iPhone app,    iPad app,    Android phone app,    Android tablet app,     More
Focus:

Secondary menu

You are here

UFO Year in Review: 2012

Primary tabs

Roger Marsh's picture
The witness described an orange-red, spherical object moving over Kansas City, MO, on July 8, 2012, and provided this illustration of what was seen.

Coverage of 2012 triangle UFO cases closed out as Unknowns continues today with 16 pieces of edited witness statements from July 2012, according to December 29, 2012, testimony from the Mutual UFO Network (MUFON) witness reporting database.

The completed cases means MUFON field investigators have ruled out Mother Nature and anything man-made.

Looking Back

The triangle remains a top three UFO shape for 2012 with 685 U.S. reports filed through December 15, 2012. Coverage will continue with the remaining 2012 months until we have a complete log of the best triangle cases from the year. The witness statements here are edited testimony. You may view the complete and unedited testimony using the case links provided.

July 1, 2012, 9:50 p.m., Independence, Jackson County, MO. Case 40012. "I am the Assistant State Director for Missouri and had this sighting myself along with my entire family and some friends (total 17 of us with 10 adults and teenagers included) while we were at a birthday party for my granddaughter," the witness stated. "I was looking at the moon under clear skies when I noticed an object moving through the sky southeast of my position headed northwest. At first I thought it was a plane, but realized it wasn't after seeing the triangle shape and three very bright white lights pointing downward, and one red light in the center which was flashing sequentially at first. There were no red or green lights where wings should be, no wings, and no tail, and absolutely no sound. If this had been a commercial jet or the B-2 there would have been some type of sound since it was so close to us. I estimated the distance to be above 500 feet and under a mile due to the size of it. It would take a golf ball or larger to cover it up at arm's length. There were no flashing white beacon lights, only the red one in the center. After a minute, the front light on the point of the triangle went out for a few seconds and then back on, and the other lights all started flashing randomly, which was completely out of the ordinary for any commercial or military craft. The object continued on its path and out of sight. I did not have my camera with me at the time."

July 4, 2012, 9:30 p.m., Vancouver, Clark County, WA. Case 40271. "A friend and myself were watching fourth of July fireworks in the sky when we noticed an orange ball ascending in the sky from the north," the witness stated. "At that moment we determined that it might be a Chinese lantern by the way it wobbled on upward lazily. We doubted our first opinion on the object when it would suddenly pulsate a very bright white light. When the white light dimmed, the object returned to its orange, orb-like appearance. The pulse was like a three-second build up to a suddenly immense, white light. About five to seven seconds for every pulsation. The object began to fly directly towards myself and my friend. It got closer and seemed to move faster. When it was just about directly overhead, I made a joke that what we were seeing was Superman. I made the joke because directly overhead it didn't appear to be an orb anymore. It appeared to be a capital Y flying across the sky like Superman with his arms out. At the ends of the three points of the Y were orange orbs. The rest of the Y was pulsating a yellowish-white to an all white flash at its peak. At this time when it was directly overhead we expected to be able to see it clearly for a while, but then it sped up quickly. In about a few short seconds it was something so visible to something so tiny as a little star moving across the sky until it wasn't visible anymore. I saw it shortly in its tiniest form, to my friend's perspective it vanished. My best guess is that it flew from the north towards us in the south and then vanished."

July 4, 2012, 10:05 p.m., Lees Summit, Jackson County, MO. Case 40263. "He pointed out four unusual red/orange lights that hovered in unison from the east to west direction," the witness stated. "Our back deck faces north. It was peculiar to see these lights drifting slowly from east to west against the night sky when there were plenty of fireworks. The first three set of lights formed a triangular shape with the fourth trailing behind. We then called our oldest 17-year-old son to see these lights and ask what he thought about them. Shortly after he came to see them we noticed that the first three set of lights in a triangle shape lost the first bottom left light, as it simply disappeared."

July 8, 3:30 a.m., Miami, Miami-Dade County, FL. Case 40667. "My wife saw a huge craft, about the size of a football field, maybe double that size, about one-half mile from our house," the reporting witness stated. "We live in the Killian area of Miami and our best estimate is that the craft was near or above the Miami Zoo. Our dog is very sick and throwing up and she went to open the door in front of our house so the dog can go to the bathroom. When she looked up, in a south-westerly direction, she saw the craft at approximately a 45 degree angle. Attached is a drawing of the craft made by my wife. It was shaped like a cylinder but with pointed edges on both sides which appeared triangular shaped on each end. The right and left sides, inside the triangle portion of the edges, had two large bands of extremely bright multi-colored lights on each side. The middle part of the craft appeared very light whitish or gray colored. The craft made an extremely loud noise, much more powerful than if an airplane was standing directly above us. The object remained stationary for about five minutes and then it disappeared. We have attached a drawing of the object, a map showing the location of our house and the location of the Miami zoo area, and a weather chart indicating that the visibility was 10 miles, and that there were scattered clouds at 3:30 a.m. that night. My wife said that she saw many stars in the sky that night and thus she had excellent visibility."

July 8, 2012, 9:16 p.m., Garner, Wake County, NC. Case 40586. "Tonight at 9:16 p.m., while driving home, we observed three lights aligned in a triangle in the sky near Garner, NC. The lights were still and hovering just above the pine trees, no noise. They started to pulse bright red lights but then dimmed to a pinkish color. It traveled a short distance hovering and moving in an irregular pattern. It seemed to move down behind the pines and then it vanished in the air. We tried to drive around the backside of the pine trees to a field where we know we would be able to see the sky clearly in many directions, but it was gone. If this were a plane or helicopter, we would have still been able to see it from any direction, north, south, east, west and up into the sky. We both agreed that we had witnessed a UFO. Wished we had a camera."

July 8, 2012, 10:13 p.m., Kansas City, Clay County, MO. Case 40656. "I noticed the super brilliant, orange/red spherical object just over the rooftop," the witness stated. "She also witnessed this event. Orb/object was surrounded in a conical iridescence, possibly ionization from the atmosphere, which varied in shape aft of the object and decreased in shape and visibility further downrange to the west. Initially the object size at first sighting overhead was the size of a 'BB' held at arm's length. Approximate altitude was 30-40,000 feet, ceiling: Unlimited. Too slow to be meteoric. Too low to be a satellite."

July 10, 2012, 1:08 a.m., Vincennes, Knox County, IN. Case 40652. "I was looking at the moon rising in the east but noticed a yellow-white light behind a tree next to our road to my northeast," the witness stated. "I pulled out my cell phone from my pocket to look at the time, that way I would know what time it was when I first noticed the object just in case it turns out to be an unknown object. I watched the light closely, at first it seemed stationary, but after about a minute it gradually started to move in a southwesterly direction. I went to my truck to grab my camera but I forgot that I brought it inside with me earlier. I turned on the camera on my cell phone and zoomed in as close as I could. I couldn't see the object on the screen, but I went ahead and took a picture of it anyway for further research on here. As it got directly in line with the moon (just above the moon) I could see a red blinking light underneath as well as a bright white light on the front, and the back there was another white light. As it got to my southeast I noticed another white light, where I could see the lights were in a triangular formation. There was no sound that I could hear other than the traffic noise since I live less than a quarter mile from Highway 41 and a CSX railroad crossing. At 1:18 a.m., 10 minutes after I first noticed the object, it moved to my south and disappeared in a bank of clouds and never regained visual on it."

July 11, 2012, 4:05 p.m., Salt Lake County, UT. Case 40718. "I noticed the two shapes in the air, at first I thought they were eagles or a large bird , but realizing how high up it could not possibly be a bird or anything but something very large," the witness stated. "I followed them kinda floating and it seemed they moved south in a pattern that two planes might make. There was no after trail and they kept together and then slowly turned east and then abruptly vanished - I suppose into the cloud formation which would have made their altitude higher than I previously thought. I have seen many planes circle or come into the city day and night and this is where I draw my comparative size from. The size was very large and I understand the disappearing into the clouds would seem that way from the ground, but the way they seemed to move in the sky was strange to begin with. I then went back into house and took a picture of the sky and clouds, took my phone back inside and then remembered I forgot mail and went back out and clouds had dispersed into a bright sunny day. All seemed surreal."

July 13, 2012, 9:40 p.m., Laredo, Webb County, TX. Case 41459. "We were sitting outside our home recording the lightning and that's when we noticed the lights and continued recording the lights," the witness stated. "We were and are not sure what we were looking at. We have a lot of helicopters in the area so we are 100 percent sure that it was not a chopper."

July 14, 2012, 10:45 p.m., Blue Springs, Jackson County, MO. Case 40947. "It was a group of three lights moving slowly over the horizon still in the trees," the witness stated. "I moved over in our yard to a clearing to see the lights better. At first it looked like the Chinese lanterns used during the fourth of July, but they stayed in a triangular shape with a slight variance to sphere or domed shape. It continued to move across the horizon and slowly ascended and moved back away from us and then dimmed out and was gone. This took about five minutes of time."

July 15, 2012, 10:35 p.m., Blue Springs, Jackson County, MO. Case 40939. "This was seen from the Hy-Vee parking lot in Blue Springs, MO," the witness stated. "I was headed into the store when I saw this in the sky at 10:35 p.m. I thought it was some of those lanterns that you can get during the 4th of July. I went in the store to get others to see it but couldn't find anyone close enough so I went back outside and when I got back outside they were gone. That led me to believe it wasn't the lanterns because you can see those up in the sky for quite a while."

July 19, 2012, 10:22 p.m., Blue Springs, Jackson County, MO. Case 40939. "Three objects. Shape look like V-shape front and V-shape rear with reddish-orange color. Two were close to each other and 1 was spaced a bit farther from the others. No sound was heard."

Photo description: The witness described an orange-red, spherical object moving over Kansas City, MO, on July 8, 2012, and provided this illustration of what was seen.

Extra information about the article: 
The witness described an orange-red, spherical object moving over Kansas City, MO, on July 8, 2012, and provided this illustration of what was seen.
Categories: 

Author articles